Main Menu

Blackburn Cirrus Minor

Blackburn Cirrus Minor 2A

The Blackburn Cirrus Minor is a British four-cylinder, inverted, in-line air-cooled aero-engine that was designed and built by the Cirrus Engine Section of Blackburn Aircraft Limited in 1937.

The Cirrus Minor started as a development of the original Cirrus series of engines which progressed through a number of variants Cirrus I, II, & III. Each with slightly different displacement and power. Later Cirrus was bought by Hermes Engine Company and they produced the Cirrus Hermes I, II, III and IV. Again each differing slightly in displacement and power.

In 1934 Cirrus was bought again by the Blackburn Aircraft company and later that year the Cirrus Minor was produced and in 1935 the Blackburn Cirrus Major was produced.

The Minor was known for excellent reliability, and had a major "win" when it was selected to power the RAF's Taylorcraft Auster observation aircraft. The RAF's version had several modifications, known as the Series I. Although externally identical, the Series II engine was redesigned to operate on 77 octane fuel, as opposed to the original's 70, increasing power to 100 hp (75 kW).

Arpin A-1 Mk.2
Auster J-1 Autocrat
Auster J-4
British Aircraft Swallow
Deekay Knight
General Aircraft Cagnet
Hillson Helvellyn
Marendaz Trainer
Miles M.68
Miles Gemini
Taylorcraft Auster I
Taylorcraft Plus C2
Taylorcraft Plus D
VEF I-12

Cirrus Minor I
Type: Inline air-cooled inverted 4-cylinder
Bore: 3.94 in (100 mm)
Stroke: 5.00 in (127 mm)
Displacement: 243 cu in (4 L)
Length: 39.9 in (1,013 mm)
Width: 17.9 in (455 mm)
Height: 25.6 in (650 mm)
Dry weight: 200 lb (91 kg)
Valvetrain: 1 inlet and 1 exhaust valve per cylinder
Fuel system: 1 Claudel carburettor
Fuel type: 70 octane
Cooling system: Air-cooled
Power output: 90 hp (67 kW) at 2,600 rpm
Compression ratio: 5.8:1
Power-to-weight ratio: 0.45 hp/lb (0.73 kW/kg)



Copyright © 2021 all-aero. All Rights Reserved.
Joomla! is Free Software released under the GNU General Public License.